top of page

Welcome to COASTALab!

Welcome to my website featuring my research here at Louisiana State University! COASTALab stands for Climate Observations And Seaside Tree Analysis Laboratory. The crux of my research relies on dendrotempestology - the study of the effects of hurricanes on trees (see picture of study site!) - and I have built a wealth of knowledge and passion for anything coastal through my time spent here in the outdoors of Louisiana.

I have years of experience here in the Department of Geography and Anthropology and have worked on projects all over the United States. The majority of my research and collaborations takes place here in the Southeast US involving everything from geomorphology to ecology, hydrology to humanities, and everything in between. I have collaborators here at LSU, the University of Southern Mississippi, the University of North Carolina - Greensboro, the University of Oklahoma, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and the University of Tennessee just to name a few. I am an active member of the American Association of Geographers at whose annual national and regional meetings I regularly present. I have been funded as a teaching assistant here at LSU, as a fellow through the USGS's South Central Climate Science Center, as a fellow of the National Academy of Sciences' Gulf Research Program, and currently as a fellow of the Louisiana SeaGrant program where we are enhancing K-12 environmental education.

I am a proud native of Louisiana and the majority of my research is impassioned by a love for my state and its coast. I fervently enjoy the outdoors in almost any capacity, and I can usually be found somewhere outside during my free time.

Slash pine trees at Grand Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve, Mississippi.


bottom of page